In this Must Know…
- Support in The Face of Tragedy
- Small Policy with Big Impact
- State Small Business Laws Enacted January 1st
- We need your 2021 data! Fill out the Impact Census.
- This week’s Goodie Highlight is the White House’s recent report on “The Biden Economic Agenda, Two Years In.”
Support in The Face of Tragedy
We are overwhelmed with sadness to hear of the three mass shootings in California in the past 10 days: (6 dead in Goshen, 11 dead in Monterey Park, and 7 dead in Half Moon Bay; two of which happened at small businesses). In the long term, this culture of violence needs to change so that our main streets are safe to shop, dance, and work. In the immediate run, CAMEO members in those areas play an important role in supporting their small business corridors near the tragedies and we stand ready to support their efforts. Our thoughts are with them as they help their communities try to heal.
Small Policy with Big Impact
Last summer, CAMEO member Katty Ibarra, Director of the San Diego and Imperial Women’s Business Center, informed us that the California Department of Social Services (CDSS)only took credit cards for the online orientation needed for child care licensing. CAMEO, Katty, and CDSS met to discuss more payment options for low-income childcare providers that do not have access to credit cards or bank accounts. With childcare an essential part of our economy, CDSS understood and agreed that the form of payment shouldn’t be a barrier to entry.
Last Friday, CDSS let us know that all regional offices will accept physical payment, for example, personal checks, money orders, and cashier’s checks, whether by mail or in person. The regional office will process the payment and notify the registrant to take the child care licensing orientation online. CAMEO would like to thank the CDSS staff for working with us to expand the number of payment options available for potential childcare licensees. This small change will make it easier for childcare providers to become licensed.
State Small Business Laws Enacted January 1st
California laws that passed last year took effect on January 1st, 2023. Some of the new legislation will increase the cost of doing business, such as:
- AB 1041 – Allows employees to take 12 unpaid weeks off to care for certain family members.
- AB 1949 – Requires employers with 5 or more employees to provide up to 5 days of unpaid bereavement leave.
- SB 3 – Raises the statewide minimum wage to $15.50 per hour for all employer sizes.
- SB 1126 – Requires by December 31, 2025, any eligible employer with one or more employees that does not offer a retirement savings program, to have a payroll deposit savings arrangement to allow an employee participation in the CalSavers program.
Make sure your clients know about these laws so they can prepare accordingly.
- Read the SBA Office of Advocacy’s issue brief on “Business Dynamics During COVID-19.”
- The White House released a report on “The Biden Economic Agenda, Two Years In.”
For Your Clients
- Check out Freelancers Union’s Tax Center for tips, resources, and discounts on filing taxes.
- Questions to ask when looking for professional services, by WEV’s Nikki Par.
- Learn how lenders/financial institutions can benefit from the $1.2 billion in U.S. Treasury SSBCI incentives, join the webinar on February 2, 2023 at 10:00 am PST.
- The FY2023 Capital Magnet Fund Funding Round is open. The deadline to submit is February 23, 2023.
- Members in the News: Small Business Majority’s Mark Herbert, a CAMEO Board Member, is featured in this Forbes article on launching a new company during tough economic times, as is AmPac.
- Jobs: Renaissance, RUNWAY, and West Center announced new jobs recently. See who else is hiring!